Contact Us
Want to advertise here? Contact us today to begin

Advice Needed For Medium/large Scale Extraction

Discussion in 'Concentrates & Processing' started by Goyo, Dec 2, 2017.

1. Goyo

Goyo

I’m an investor who has been meeting with prospective partners who are Northern California growers/ producers. The plan is to startup a wholesale extraction business to produce oil and clear distillates. I attended the MMJBizCon conference in November and have been studying cannabis processing equipment for several months but otherwise I’m a novice.

I would like to get some feedback on our plan and get some equipment recommendations from someone who has experience extracting 50-100# or more of trim per day. My prospective partners are recommending an ethanol based system for extraction and a chromatography machine for distillates and isolates.

If there is someone on the forum who would be willing to chat with me about this, I would greatly appreciate it.

Thanks

2. im in the extraction game here in sacramento california and i currently operate a systems that does 4 pounds per using a supercritical co2 extractor. but i've been in the extraction business for almost a decade and hav worked with many different technologies and system size. i would be happy to answer any questions u hav

Buzzer777 likes this.
  3. For those quantities, I would suggest a subzero (>-50C) ethanol process. For comparing the different purification processes and equipment, I suggest talking to joeoakes@oregonmedicalgrowers.com.

4. Goyo

Goyo

Thanks Graywolf, I will reach out to Joe.

Progeny, I will send you a private msg.

Graywolf and Dunge like this.
  5. Dunge

Dunge

Please keep the conversation going here.
    I like the idea of ethanol extraction as the purging of small amounts of residual solvent is probably not as great a concern as more toxic substances.
    But -50C is challenging, even in Fairbanks.