Cob Lighting For A 4x8 Flowering Tent

• Thread starter h4ppyf4rmer
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
h4ppyf4rmer

h4ppyf4rmer

Hi All,
Sorry if something like this has been posted before but my eyes are crossed from reading all the COB posts and getting even more confused then I was before...

I'm a new farmer and I'm vegging and flowering in the same 4x4 tent with a platinum p600 light over a 2 x 3 6-bucket rdwc system. I realize now that the turnaround time using only one tent is too long and when the light to closer to the plants for flowering it doesn't have the same coverage so I decided to start slowly investing into a veg only tent(using my current setup) and a 2x3 6-bucket flowering tent to shorten up the turnaround time and get better light coverage. I was thinking of using a 4x8 flowering tent for the added spread out room.

What I'm looking for is an optimal COBs setup (spacing and nominal CCT) for the 4 x 8 (32 sqft) area.

I would like to not use fans, I've looked at the square heatsinks from northern grow lights(currently sold out). I don't mind spending a little extra for high quality parts if they are more energy efficient or lasts longer. I'll probably just use HomeDepot aluminum L-channel stock for the frames. I was thinking of multiple separate frames so I can individually adjust the height is needed.

so I'm looking for:

number of COBs needed to fill the area
number of drivers needed for the given number of COBs needed
Brand of COBs (I'm thinking Bridgelux here)
Brand of drivers (I'm thinking MeanWell here)
What nominal CCT should I use for just flowering
Do I need any other colors like red for flowering

What does everyone recommend?

I'm very handy so building this is not intimidating for me.

Thanks

sixstring

sixstring