Coir Starter Failed

• Thread starter SandroSwift
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
SandroSwift

SandroSwift

This is my first year starting from seeds in many years, last year I returned to cultivation as it is now legal here. Last Year I got gifted some cuttings which did well out on a deck in Peat based soil mix, a local vegetable (not municipal)compost, 25% coir, perlite and amendments from the "supersoil" recipe.
This year I got a 2x4 tent set up a "1000w" amazon light I got on an open box sale for $22 along with 4 17W clear glass led bulbs at 4000K. Big led is at 24" and tubes (bare bulbs but facing plants) are at 12".
After reading the great reviews on all coir or coir/organic I made up a starter soil of"
Coir (from a block but rinsed well a few times with rainwater) 45%, Peat 20%, good compost and worm-castings 7.5% each. plus a bit of dolomite lime, Kelp, Azomite, and Humic acid.
Seeds sprouted fine in 3 1/4 pots with extra holes and some coir chips at the bottom.
However the leaves were a bit yellow green right from the start and at about 1 week I started some CalMag+ from a GroBox and 1/3 strength Biogro along with a light Velo Kelp.
The plants did not recover much and I started alternating a flush with RO and distilled water and slightly stronger nute solution. PH has been 6-6.5. Ive even done a "live" tea that started with steeped cottonseed meal to try to bring the PH down a bit.
I got so fed up after a month I did a test planting with some good "Blueberry x Purple Kush" seed a friend had done herself. I used 2/3 Sungro soiless mix with 1/3 of my mix left over from last year. (Tested the same PH) and those took off like banshees.
I am including shots of 2 of the 2 month old ones, and 1 each of the test batch.