Cold Curing Vs. Warm Curing

• Thread starter Brown.Thumb
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
Brown.Thumb

Brown.Thumb

My first post...

I've been researching every aspect of cannabis growing and curing for many months and I'm still just an ignorant newb. I'm growing for medicinal purposes to treat things like inflammation, pain, depression, anxiety and Parkinson's. Flavor and effects are important but medicinal needs far outweigh those.

MY QUESTIONS: For my needs, is cold processing of fresh green herb better, or is drying and warm curing prior to extraction more beneficial (Malawi Cob Curing)? If warm curing is better, at what temperature... 130 F? Is vacuum sealed to remove oxygen better to prevent mold and preserve terpenes? Does warm curing improve or depreciate medicinal benefits?

*** Yes, I've searched... a LOT. But I'm new to all of this and need all the help I can get. All the conflicting information and opinions are mind-boggling to a dummy like me.

COLD PROCESSED...
1. Cut fresh herb and immediately freeze in dry ice
2. Grind while frozen and place back into dry ice (do not allow to thaw)
3. Pour in cold Everclear and allow the mixture to 'boil' at room temperature for 10 minutes
4. Pour cold tincture through a fine filter to remove all plant material, leaving only dissolved resins
5. Transfer tincture to a vacuum-assisted alcohol still to boil off and reclaim the Everclear for reuse (the tincture is never warmed above 120-140 F)
6. Reduce the strength of the oil by mixing in food grade glycerin or other medium to use in edibles
(I do realize any water soluble materials will be left in the plant material and none in the oil but I don't know if that's a concern)

WARM CURED...
(Malawi Cob Curing) (or Vacuum Sealed sous vide warming)... followed by extraction via various means.

Last edited:
DemonTrich

DemonTrich