compost help

• Thread starter Camdawg
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
Camdawg

Camdawg

So my compost barrel is lookin a little well gross. Lots of ants and huge grubs. I looked around some forums but got lots of back and forth answers so I figured I would bring it over hear hopefully Seamadian can help me out. The compost looks a little too wet and is full of bugs.

caveman4.20

caveman4.20

I love these threads I'm no pro but you could add more browns and turn the compost . ...put a pallet and chicken wire st bottom maybe so juices drain? I also am hoping sea and more people drop some knowledge

Mogrow

Mogrow

I've never used a barrel Camdawg, what's the thinking behind that? i've seen those tumbler things but never used one. I put my stuff in a pile on the ground and let "er cook, bigger pile the better, more heat to cook it down. I do use sides sometimes to keep material close together, like caveman said, chicken wire is good for the sides, concrete blocks look also.
COMPOST IS KING // MAKE SOME //

yellowhead

yellowhead

You want to look into 'hot composting' Camdawg. Throwing all your crap in a bin and leaving it is cold composting, which takes forever.

You need to turn the pile regularly to make sure it's aerobic, but not so often that all the N just gases of.

Temperature is important, so having a long thermometer is useful, like the following one:

http://www.reotemp.com/heavy_duty_windrow_thermometers.html

Also, ratios of C/N are critical. Too much N and it'll end up a stinking, anaerobic, slimy mess, which is no good. Too much C and the process of it breaking down will be very slow. You can use online calculaters to get the right ratio of C/N, eg:

http://www.organicsciencesllc.com/composting.htm

Composting is a science and there's a lot to learn, but it's worthwhile.

A well tended compost pile can be ready in a matter of weeks and will be thriving with beneficial microbes.

Seamaiden

Seamaiden

Living dead girl