Did I Top Correctly?

• Thread starter KaptainKush
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
KaptainKush

KaptainKush

Hey guys, im new to the thread and the scene itself so as the title says, did i top my plants in the right spot? Theyre about a month old and i attempted my first top and am now nervous if i did it too high or in the right spot at all. Its probably more or less me underestimating myself but id rather be cautious than dumb. I personally think i did them one node too high but im no expert by any means. So here they are
Did i top correctly
Did i top correctly 2
Did i top correctly 3

Did i top correctly 4
dnewsome2

dnewsome2

As far as I know you're supposed to leave a tiny bit and not chop it Too Close to the node. Yours looks fine to me it's pretty hard to hurt them.

KaptainKush

KaptainKush

Ive read that its really tough to hurt them. I just want to make sure that ill still get the double branches out of it or if i just hurt it and will have to redo it once it repairs itself. Thanks for the reply

dnewsome2

dnewsome2

Oh you're definitely going to have two come out. Then you can top those shoots and so on. It's hormones are all freaked out right now but in a few days it should snap out of it and in a week it should start growing rapidly.

Whitesnake

Whitesnake

Looks good to me.

When I top I aim to FIM (Fuck I missed) which means you take most of the new node's leaves but leave a bit like 1/3-1/2 of the node. FIMing still redirects a lot of auxins (plant hormones) to the next highest nodes but you'll still have a node in the middle. So long story short topping removes the apex node and results in 2 apex nodes, FIMing results in 3 apex nodes. Ya dig?

*edit I described how I "FIM" but the article does it a bit differently. the concepts are similar though

http://www.growweedeasy.com/fim-your-way-to-multiple-colas

Whitesnake

Whitesnake