DIY: 220/240v 60A Subpanel

• Thread starter bentripin
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
B

bentripin

Electricity is dangerous, and so is letting others in on your operation. Hooking up a Subpanel can be pretty easy and straight forward, this can save you alot of money and you wont have to come up with a good excuse to cover your high electrical needs.

I AM NOT A LICENSED ELECTRICIAN, just a DIY Guy.. I have done this many times and always passed the inspections required by my local permitting office. This is a guide to show you what your in for, this is serious and could result in your death. If you are not comfortable or simply dont understand electricity then I would not recommend this job for you..

Keep in mind, for insurance and zoning purposes a DIY might not be the best idea. However if your grow room goes up in flames good luck w/insurance and I am not too keen on getting permits and inspections on something this private. Even in a 100% legal operation security concerns may encourage you to do this.

In most places its completely legal to do the wiring your self if you pull the permits and get it inspected before you seal up the walls. About the only thing that you must use a certified electrician for is new service hookup from the power company to your circuit box... this is simply because the power company wont let you touch there equipment if your not licensed & insured. If you need to keep it all legitimate then go visit your local permit office before doing anything, they will give you all the info you need... sometimes they might make u take a simple test before giving you the electrical permit so keep that in mind. Be as vague as the'll let you on your permits, there public records and if it says your hooking up 60A 240 in a basement try to make it look like you are remodeling a laundry room or something.