Contact Us
Want to advertise here? Contact us today to begin

Electrician Needed To Help Solve Receptical Outages

Discussion in 'Growroom Design & Setup' started by Humboldt.Rio, Dec 27, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Whatz up farmers. Merry belated Christmas and almost happy new year!

    Long story short. Right before Christmas i came home and i could tell it had been windy. stuff was blown around and out of place. thought weird... ok.

    7 oclock lights on and no power to my 220 weird...
    been on for a year and now off. checked the lines. only power on one side of the 110. otherside off.

    weird

    then power is off on my 110 line to the living room as well. ok

    fuck

    plug my 600 into the wall 110 in the room and fine.

    next night at 7 i check the receptical of 220 and power is back

    livingroom too but was flickering and came back. all other circuits in the house work.

    well, christmas i knew i was going to be gone two nights and in the same room i have a tent flowering and veg plants outside the tent. to use the same ac.

    me and a buddy were moving veg plants to another room to keep the tent open.

    he plugged my 110 timer into a 220 receptical and i just heard the pop on the timer and smelled the burn.

    fuck

    after the same 220 lines out the other night are off again and livingroom. left my 600 on the 110 in the room. turned off breakers for all 220 and the livingroom 110. went away for christmas.

    come home today. turn all breakers back on and only some 220 power. livingroom 110 off two.

    WTF...

    the 220 is my ac and its gonna get super hot on sunday all next week.

    where i live nothing is to code. so dont start there. and i cant really call an electrician. i dont trust many people here. i am a gringo

    ive been growing a long time and know some. but breaker boxers or problem solving is where i ask for help. i dont want to burn my house down.

    first two pictures are left side right 110 box IMG_20181227_204753.jpg IMG_20181227_204813.jpg

    the second from top 20 amp is the problem livingroom breaker

    IMG_20181227_205006.jpg IMG_20181227_205020.jpg IMG_20181227_205034.jpg

    these 3 pics are the top of box. box and then bottom of the 220 box

    IMG_20181227_211609.jpg

    turned on ALL breakers and read current. marked lines in and out Hot or Cold

    I have breakers cold from the street... does that mean something from the main box outside? but why only some? Like i said everything as been fine for a year. split ac running on one 220 and maximum 3 600,s on another 220

    but the connection with the livingroom is weird

    any help is sooooo gratefully appreciated. im hoping someone can help tonight so i can buy stuff tomorrow, if its easy. otherwise no one works here in this city till after nye

    cheers
     
  2. Dbear180

    Dbear180

    691
    1,679
    143
    Sounds like your panel might have a bad connection from the mains. If it was really windy maybe one of your mains broke loose above or behind the panel. The mains should be replaced like every 15 years by the power company I think.
     
    Humboldt.Rio likes this.
  3. 1diesel1

    1diesel1 Moderator Staff Member

    4,530
    11,838
    263
    Panel upgrade is what you need. 100 amp service?
     
    Humboldt.Rio likes this.
  4. How can I know for sure? Is that something the power company needs to solve or something I can get someone else
     
  5. 1diesel1

    1diesel1 Moderator Staff Member

    4,530
    11,838
    263
    Ide start by replacing the 220 fuse that keeps tripping.
     
  6. That's the trippy part. The breakers never trip
     
  7. 1diesel1

    1diesel1 Moderator Staff Member

    4,530
    11,838
    263
    Electrician is what you need not the power company.
     
    Dan789 and Humboldt.Rio like this.
  8. I think here we have 140 to the house
     
  9. Fuck... That's gonna be really tricky.
     
  10. Ur talking about replace the main out on the street?
     
  11. 1diesel1

    1diesel1 Moderator Staff Member

    4,530
    11,838
    263
    Panel in the house. Street should be fine. If you were having problems with a transformer it would be a problem for your neighbors also and you would no it.
     
    TerpyTyrone, Madmax and Humboldt.Rio like this.
  12. I would say that a wire coming from the street to your house is corroded and not making a good connection. I’d call the power company
     
    Dbear180, Humboldt.Rio and 1diesel1 like this.
  13. 1diesel1

    1diesel1 Moderator Staff Member

    4,530
    11,838
    263
    Underground or above ground power to the house?
     
    Humboldt.Rio likes this.
  14. Tomorrow I'll take a picture of the 3 phase with the clock.
     
  15. Above ground
     
  16. 1diesel1

    1diesel1 Moderator Staff Member

    4,530
    11,838
    263
    You have 3 phase power?
     
    Humboldt.Rio likes this.
  17. I think its coming from the box out side where the clock is attached. Its old.

    Is that power company or electrician?
     
  18. Pretty sure its 3
     
  19. 1diesel1

    1diesel1 Moderator Staff Member

    4,530
    11,838
    263
    You mean the meter that measures your power consumption?
     
    Humboldt.Rio likes this.
  20. Yup. And just below the clock outside is the main house breaker
     
    madgrower likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.