Grow Room Heating

• Thread starter Madmax
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
Madmax

Madmax

Hi gents..im just starting to learn a little on indoor growing before i start..its middle of winter here gets down to zero and grow room is around 5-8 deg celcius.will this b a worry??
As was thinking will a heat pump in reservior b all thats needed or will it b better to heat room.. if so would 1 or 2 of those wall mount 50w heat tubes b enough to heat..5ft x 5ft x 7ft ceiling.appreciate any help..

Cheers maz

Madmax

Madmax

Hmm...i see.. temp needs to b between 18-22 deg.temp plays an important role in nutrient uptake and cell division of plants.if temps dont sit between these parameters,growth will slow down or stop altogether relative of humidity..gee we dont get that many warm nites
during summer.so my plant outside stop growing lol..that cant b right

Aqua Man

Aqua Man

Plants take in very little nutrients during dark time. Its the daytime temps during photosynthesis where nutrient uptake would be impacted most. Low night time temps cause a host of issues and there many factors are at play. Root zone temps, air temps, leaf temps all effect plants.

I would guess you need about 200W heater to heat the air in that space. No idea how well insulated it is. Might get away with less but could be more.

JWM2

JWM2

Premium Member
Supporter
Pick a safe one like the oil heater mentioned. My neighbor burnt his shop down w one of those stupid fan forced space heaters. Insulate it well and you’ll need far less power

I bet. I had one with an exposed wire coil element and those are the worst. I didn’t use it in my grow but I can’t imagine how those ever made it to the market. Guessing they didn’t have the UL back then. Heh.

1diesel1

1diesel1

Staff
Supporter
I bet. I had one with an exposed wire coil element and those are the worst. I didn’t use it in my grow but I can’t imagine how those ever made it to the market. Guessing they didn’t have the UL back then. Heh.