Roots 707 question

• Thread starter ogbluntdoc
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
ogbluntdoc

ogbluntdoc

So I am new to soil growing, I have been doing hydroponics for a few years now and am wanting to expand my knowledge of soils and organics. Today I visited two different hydro shops in town. Now i'm used to different shops giving me different answers on products like nutrients but i was surprised when i was asking about soil that i got different responses. I've noticed Roots 707 has been pretty popular and seems like a good starting point. Here is my question, can a seedling be placed in the 707 soil, and/or can a rooted clone be placed into the 707. No additives. One shop said that it is to hot of a soil and has allot of N and will burn young plants. It was recommended I use something like the ocean forest for seedlings/clones. The other shop (whom seemed to be more confident in there answers) said that the 707 is perfect for young plants and can be used without any additives for up to 4 weeks in veg.

:)

altitudefarmer

altitudefarmer

Only finicky hazes/sativas have ever given me an issue in Roots, whether Original or the 707. If you're unsure, grab a little soilless mix (pro mix, sunshine advanced, etc) and cut the 707 50/50. that gives little girls a great start!

ogbluntdoc

ogbluntdoc

awesome thanks for the responses. I figured i would be ok with it but if someone tells me that a soil is too hot im going to listen and ask around before i plant.

ogbluntdoc

ogbluntdoc

Altitude, or anyone. would you be able to give me a good understanding of the 707 vs original. The grow store didn't give me an answer i could walk away and understand lol. I will be using Age Old Organics for my feed if that makes any difference in your response. Im just curious if one is better than the other, or if one is more or less organic (if that makes sense, im new to organics)

Also, is 707 good to go as is, or is something like perlite need to be added.

ogbluntdoc