Smells Like Hay

• Thread starter brownred
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
brownred

brownred

Hello, I’m new at this but I do have a green thumb. I clipped a couple of small buds the experiment either before the final. Layed them out to dry and the fist couple day they smelled good but on day 2.5 and day 3 they smell like hay. Second time this has happened. Is this normal? If not what am I doing wrong?
Also, it isnt quit ready to harvest yet either. It’s still a little early.

Thanks!

Last edited:
chemistry

chemistry

Try not to be to harsh when you dry your cut weed, or you'll dry out the oils that give the aroma your missing. Try to just dry it and finish it slowly, but not to slow that it goes mouldy.

jumpincactus

jumpincactus

Premium Member
Supporter
Try not to be to harsh when you dry your cut weed, or you'll dry out the oils that give the aroma your missing. Try to just dry it and finish it slowly, but not to slow that it goes mouldy.
slow drying does not make moldy weed. Not having adequate air flow/exchange and having the buds crammed together lends to mold. I have always dried mine slowly for 2 weeks, week 1 at 65% rh and then 2nd week I cut the rh down to 50%. then after week 2 they get laid in paper bags for a few days and then get jarred. With the typical burping for a bit. Most of my personal stash stays in curing jars for at least 8 weeks.

jumpincactus

jumpincactus

Premium Member
Supporter
Now most high for sale producers don't have this amount of time, but with personal stash why rush a good thing. Slow dry and a proper cure is the ticket to top shelf smooth smoke. Great genetics as well also helps this process. It took 2-3 months to get to harvest and lots of folks screw it up by rushing or dryn and curin too quickly.

DismalDude

DismalDude