Technologists That Build Their Own Systems

• Thread starter Mepis
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
M

Mepis

I apologize in advanced if this isn't the best section for this post. I didn't see a better fit.

Anyway, I'm a Desktop Analyst by trade. It's my job to create and solve technology issues. It's also my hobby. I recently got into growing, originally out of necessity for cost (medicinal reasons for my wife), and it turned into a full on hobby. As with all my other hobbies, I go off the deep end. I don't know how to take it slow.

At any rate, I started tracking my progress with a spreadsheet. I have a Raspberry Pi laying around, though, that's only being used as an appliance to wake my media server and NAS on demand. I wanted to automate data collection and other activities with it. Until I have some extra money (it's tight right now) to buy the extra sensors and servos, I started building the software for it.

Part of that software is the user inputed data collection agents. I've tried Grow Buddy but didn't like it at all. It's a nice app and the developers were really kind to distribute it for free, but it's an app designed for their grow operation and not mine. I work differently then they do.

At any rate, my goal is to have this software running on a web server on the RPI and use the RPI for all the automated tasks (temperature monitoring, humidity monitoring, watering, etc...). I hosted the software on Github for the moment under the MIT license. If it goes anywhere, I intend to do a complete instruction set so others can use the software / hardware if they want and replicate the device as easily as possible.

Long explanation aside, I'd like to get input from other growers on what data they collect about their grows, how they log it, and what their general process is. I like to collaborate, and honestly, others may have a much better idea or process flow than I do.