Vapable Liquid Homemade Possible?

• Thread starter Greendummy
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
G

Greendummy

First off, I’m a noob. However I’ve spent what must be in excess of 500 hours researching this subject and am getting a little peeved with misinformation, contradiction, deception and everything else that seems to be involved in this business. Understandably so as companies wanna keep their techniques secret.

It seems the only way companies make a vapable liquid for pens without diluting/thinning with foreign crap like vg/pg and whatever else is through distillation. There’s one or two vids on YouTube made by labs that give you a pretty good idea. It’s always co2 extraction which is then winterised with alcohol, then purged off via distillation.

What I don’t understand is why can’t we achieve the same viscosity end product at home simply by using QWET/QWISO? Why does it always end up a shatter?
Is it the initial extraction of co2 vs bud in alcohol that makes this difference? Or is it the final purge method ie distillation vs any other form of evaporation that make this difference?

Also, when it comes to terpenes, I read that those which come off during distilling the winterised fluid are crap, and called “foot” or “fishy” and can’t be readded back to the oil. Does this mean the only way of getting good flavour is to add third party terps at the end?

Can a distillation type viscosity be achieved at home without the use of distillation equipment?

GrowzNCali

GrowzNCali

I can't answer your main process question, but I do know that flavored oils you find such as FlavRx do in fact use food grade terps to mimic the flavor provided by the flowers. Basically, terps are terps so they add back in same terps that flowers had.

DemonTrich

DemonTrich

I make about 100 carts a month. I now only use distillate as the base, then add terps back in to thin it out for use in a cart.

My concentrate guy hooks me up with half the terps collected.