When Is "day One" Of Bloom To Start The 'clock' 8,9,10 Weeks Outside.

• Thread starter DIYmeGROW
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
D

DIYmeGROW

Hello friends! This is my first post, be gentle with me :)

I have been growing since 2011, indoors until my last three grows. I am Learning that outdoors is WAY different.

So, the question is when is 'day one' of bloom? When I was indoors Day One was the day we flipped from 18/6 to 12/12 timer, changed the lights from blue to red changed the nutrients from veg to bloom and pumped up crazy PK for a few days. This always started buds to form right away. From that day I could predict we would start flushing on day 48-50 and would be harvesting 7-10 days later. And it was good!

It does not work that way for me outdoors.

I am in southern CA (San Diego area). I veg indoors the same way I have. If I put them outdoors in Feb/March they will only have 10-11 hours of sun and I understand the color of the sun of more red than blue, I give them Bloom nutes and the PK boost. It seems to take 10-15 days before I see 1/4inch 'true' buds form. I swear this happened in 3-5 days indoors. I have now seen this twice outdoors in winter.

When I put them out last July they had 14 hours of sun. I was unsure of when to change their nutes and hit the PK? I'll have to dig out my notes but I remember these going 10 weeks after flipping the nutes and could never decide when 'Day One' happened.

I like having 2-3 reference facts to make a decision on, and not just one fact.

Day One was an important fact. Last year I had to judge when to flush and harvest only by observing the trichrome ripening. I waited until the heads deflate a little and 90% are cloudy and a few are turning amber by the time they were cut.

Is there a way to draw the line and call it 'day one' outdoors?
Can we get out the calipers and measure 1/4 inch bud and count backward to determine day one?