Why Do You Guys Decarb If Using Fat?

• Thread starter Shawnery
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
S

Shawnery

I've not noticed any increase in potency between decarbed fat based edibles and non-decarbed. I've been making budder for about 5 years now, which isn't that long I agree, and never used decarbed except to try it out or use it in non-fat based edibles.

The way I make mine is steeping the cannabis, water and butter for 24 hours. Then I strain it, put it the remaining water and butter mixture in the pot. Put the mix in the fridge until it solidifies and then I separate the budder and freeze. Always superdupper strong and knocks me on my ass.

Do you guys find you have different experiences.

GT21

GT21

I like soup
Supporter
I've not noticed any increase in potency between decarbed fat based edibles and non-decarbed. I've been making budder for about 5 years now, which isn't that long I agree, and never used decarbed except to try it out or use it in non-fat based edibles.

The way I make mine is steeping the cannabis, water and butter for 24 hours. Then I strain it, put it the remaining water and butter mixture in the pot. Put the mix in the fridge until it solidifies and then I separate the budder and freeze. Always superdupper strong and knocks me on my ass.

I have made people miss work the next day and i dont decarb butter... I do decarb topicals though

xavier7995

xavier7995

Nah, you arent missing anything, just different schools of thought/methods. I found the same thing, when making butter the decarbing happens when you heat your mixture up in the crockpot.

I concur on decarbing before topicals (coco oil based), i make it the same as i would butter but the old dude that gets it says the decarbed stuff works better for his arthritis.

S

Simplicio

Long simmer butter recipes decarb the herb during the cooking process, but not very well.
Any strength butter will get you high if you use enough.