Are these seedlings a lost cause? Is this damping off?

• Thread starter CarpeDiamonds
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
CarpeDiamonds

CarpeDiamonds

Hey guys,

This is my first time growing so please excuse my lack of knowledge. It's been 17 days since planting and my seedlings are showing minimal growth. Should I scrap these initial seedlings or do they still have a chance. I've already started germinating more seeds, two in a better soil mix and one in a jiffy pellet. The leaves of the tallest seedling refuse to separate and have turned yellow at the tips. I know the potting mix I chose to germinate them in wasn't an ideal texture and that the cardboard container material is too absorbent and that these factors may be the cause but I'm also worried that they're damping off and that they may infect my other germinating seedlings. I've begun watering them with 1:500 Rhizotonic just a few days ago as I was told that might help save them.
Here are photos of the seedlings.

I'd appreciate any insight as I'm very willing to learn.

Are these seedlings a lost cause is this damping off
Are these seedlings a lost cause is this damping off 2
Are these seedlings a lost cause is this damping off 3
TripsRabbit

TripsRabbit

Doesn't look like damping off, they would be slimy and unrecognizable. Looks like maybe they had too much fertilizer.

CarpeDiamonds

CarpeDiamonds

Doesn't look like damping off, they would be slimy and unrecognizable. Looks like maybe they had too much fertilizer.
Could it have been the slow-release potting mix? I didn't add any fertilizer.

tomatoesarecooltoo

tomatoesarecooltoo

Maybe practice with some sunflower seeds until you find your preferred method.

Madmax

Madmax

I yeah i dont go on that potting mix..is there any particular reason why you used it..perhaps using coir/perlite could b better for your first go...what gear have you got. lights,nutrients etc to see you to the end...

Cheers max

BudBogart

BudBogart