Autoflower pollinated by regular plant. Seeds?

• Thread starter Prospector
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
Prospector

Prospector

So.. I've been growing outside for a while now (off and on for 30 years. more lately), and propagating my own seeds every year for next years batch. This year I bought and planted 4 feminized autoflower seeds of various strains and kept them with my regular grow. All my regular plants are mutt hybrids and I didn't know what strain they were when i got the seeds and they really are a mixed bag at this point lol, more like "bush" weed now.

So I had a male plant for seeding that I thought was far enough away doing its job with my "seed" plants for next year, but some pollen made its way to my autoflowers and after trimming my four plants last night, it looks like about 125 nice fat seeds were produced.

I've done some searching but can't find a definitive answer.

Will any of these new seeds be autoflowers as well?

DeJaVu Seeds

DeJaVu Seeds

Most likely, none of them will autoflower. However, they will all carry the RECESSIVE gene for it. Key word is recessive. As far as I know, there are no plants that have a dominant gene for autoflowering. So, you have to breed the dominant PHOTOPERIOD gene out of it, so that the plant only has a homozygous pair of recessive autoflowering genes.

You would have to grow some of these new seeds of yours, select your best male and cross it with one or two of your best females. Neither will autoflower. I would select for fast growing, thick stems, and short bushy shape. Make seeds with those. This is the second generation.

Out of that batch of seeds, you should get about 25% automatic plants.

Keep crossing your best autoflower plants together, generation after generation, and you will get batches of seeds that are more and more auto flowering. Like this...

Accidental cross = 0% automatic seeds.
2nd generation = 25% auto
3rd generation = 50% auto
4th generation = 75% auto
5th generation = 87% auto