Baking soda or Bicarb soda for PH up?

• Thread starter shavits
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
Seamaiden

Seamaiden

Living dead girl
I used to use sodium bicarbonate for aquaria on a regular basis, it is safe for living organisms. But for organic of the terra firma type... if the water is on the acidic side I actually like to toss in dolomitic lime, th0ugh this is a very rare occurrence for me. It will dissolve a bit and definitely raise the pH, the problem is that it cannot be well controlled.

R

Ruff Ruffman

I had read online that there are some sorts of nutrient build ups that can occur using home remedies as such. I am a novice so please don't persecute me for my 2 cents chap!

E

ent

i've found sodium bicarbonate (baking soda) to not be stable. ph will fluctuate after a day or two.

M

Mmmmasonite

I have found that the ph always goes up throughout the week....so I use Fulvic Acid do lower it and break down nutes naturally.....There is a very clean(looks like clear apple juice)and organic fulvic by Mad Farmer called Nutrient Up Take Solution or N.U.T.S......my personal favorite.........Peace

S

swampweed

citric acid for down or fulvic and humic,potassium based for up,silica,potash,charcoal,amonium nitrate,sulphate,potassium nitrate,dolomite or lime,gypsum.microbes will also affect your ph,Is it full organic or just based on organic with mineral supps?im only a newb so dont hate!

M

Mmmmasonite

citric acid for down or fulvic and humic,potassium based for up,silica,potash,charcoal,amonium nitrate,sulphate,potassium nitrate,dolomite or lime,gypsum.microbes will also affect your ph,Is it full organic or just based on organic with mineral supps?im only a newb so dont hate!

Well....I use these combos for hydro...not organic....but the up and down is .....and a lot of my supplements are as well.....

S

swampweed

Well....I use these combos for hydro...not organic....but the up and down is .....and a lot of my supplements are as well.....