Best Top of Line LED For 4x4 or 5x5?

• Thread starter Backyard_Boogie
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
MIGrampaUSA

MIGrampaUSA

I’m also using aluminum extrusion for this full build. It has T-slots on each side and flat on one side so I can attach the strips. The pic is basically what I’m getting for my frame except for one side will be flat with no T-slotView attachment 1155694
I'm very familiar with the material. I have my hands on it almost daily. The brand we use at work to build mainly machine guarding is 80/20.

ImpulsiveGrower

ImpulsiveGrower

Supporter
I think I have it figured out. This is what I put together.

View attachment 1155695

I need to think on it a day or 2 before I pull the trigger.
I opted for the red booster that has less diodes but has the same specs as my PLC photo boost strips so I can easily wired them all in series together instead of sets of series/parallel wiring and I can follow the PLC YouTube video step by step still since I’m a newb at LED builds. Atleast that’s what I was told… nice choice if your making a flower supplemental fixture.
2D3742CA 080A 4FC4 B755 786452AA736D
B411360D 6250 4F0B B9D2 C8236203955A

You are going to get a lot of opinions as this is a polarized topic. I decided on LED vs HPS because of the tradeoff. If electricity was free I would go HPS but since its not I went with LED. I did a lot of research before I bought a light and decided on the Gavita 1700e. I couldn't be happier.

Glassdub

Glassdub

Already stated it.. same boards, same diodes, same driver.. what else is there that can differ? basically same umols too. but for half the price, thats why stay far away from hlg.
I'd really like to see the said lights tested by this guy: https://ppfdcharts.com/
I tend to doubt they will stand up even the SFs didn't (though only the 1000 is listed, he did test the 4000).

SSgrower

SSgrower