Blend of ethanol (ethyl) and isopropyl (isopropanol) for RSO?

• Thread starter swingarm
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
S

swingarm

Was going to take a shot at making some oil. Since I'm a noob I have no idea if the following product would be a good candidate as a solvent as opposed an unblended choice
like isopropyl. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thisis my first post so please be gentle with me :)

Specially formulated with a 100% alcohol blend of ethanol (ethyl) and isopropyl (isopropanol)

P

Paradiced

Stick w straight ethanol if it's oil you will be consuming. 95%+ is best.

phxazcraig

phxazcraig

I'd stay away from isopropyl.

I've made batches of RSO several times. I wanted food grade, so I used Everclear as the solvent. Then I used a rice cooker to boil off the alcohol to leave oil.

Once done, I had a tar. I diluted 50% with vegetable oil to make it usable. Then I drew it into a syringe and measured drops into gel caps for later use.

GNick55

GNick55

Staff
Supporter
nothing wrong with isopropyl if used correctly it’s the best method.. it’s my choice method after yrs of trying others, i use 99.9%, buy it in 5 gallon pails..
cooking off in the rice cooker is not enough, after bubbling or close to it has happened (finished) than pour into a silicone tray than i use a coffee warmer on setting 1-1.5 for any where between 2-5 hours to evaporate any remaining fumes.. you could use the stove top on lowest setting also but watch and when there’s no more tiny bubbles (may have to stir it a bit with a pin to see) and a smooth surface than your safe..
if any “contaminate” is still present than the cannabiniods would neutralize them in a short time..

S

swingarm

Thanks
Stick w straight ethanol if it's oil you will be consuming. 95%+ is best.
So both solvents unblended have been used with success right? The product claim is that the blend is 1