Brown/Rusty spots on leaves after dark period

• Thread starter THraCian
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
THraCian

THraCian

I spotted some brown/rusty spots on some of my plants leaves after their dark period. Before lights out I didn't spot any of them, humidity was up quite a lot about 70%, because it's raining and I still don't have a dehumidifier, but not sure if that's the issue. They are 22 days old (since seed in ground), about 15 days from sprout. I am using BioTabs Just add water strategy using tap water that stayed outside for a few days and BioBizz LightMix with some Perlite added for medium. I only water once the top 3cm(about an inch) of the soil is dry.

From my research it looks like a Calcium deficiency, but this is my first grow ever and I am not experienced enough to recognise it correctly.

Any ideas what might cause this?

Brownrusty spots on leaves after dark period
Brownrusty spots on leaves after dark period 2
Brownrusty spots on leaves after dark period 3
Brownrusty spots on leaves after dark period 4
mysticepipedon

mysticepipedon

LEDs? you might have to turn them down a little.

I'm new to LEDs, so I could be wrong about anything I'm saying here, but check to see if the brown spots are only on the parts of the leaf that gets hit with direct light. Do the parts shaded by upper leaves have brown spots too?

My hare-brained theory is that if there is a Mg deficiency and the plant draws a little Mg from lower leaves, those leaves burn between the veins.

But always keep in mind that I may be way off base. You might be watering improperly.

THraCian

THraCian

LEDs? you might have to turn them down a little.

I'm new to LEDs, so I could be wrong about anything I'm saying here, but check to see if the brown spots are only on the parts of the leaf that gets hit with direct light. Do the parts shaded by upper leaves have brown spots too?