Can you do u'r first grow with extra Fancy dirt and call it a day?

• Thread starter Cabi
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
Cabi

Cabi

The frog is clearly happy. I can't imagine him wanting anything that isn't already in this bag, but I guess you all about to ruin that notion. Whatever. Let's hear it. 🙏
Can you do ur first grow with extra fancy dirt and call it a day

MIMedGrower

MIMedGrower

That will feed seedlings to young plants for up to 4 weeks and mature plants maybe 2 with water only.

Then its time to fertilize regularly. Its just a grow medium.

Ocean forest is betrer and feeds longer by a couple weeks but is still meant to be fertilized.

These are not water only “super soils”.

Cabi

Cabi

Oh and it needs at least 25% more large perlite mixed in for proper drainage.
That's really great advice. I have to ask something that's been rolling around in my head. I transplant all the time(regular plants) but with my first grow of a plant I have no experience with, I wondered two things. 1. Do I plant the seedling in whatever pot I believe the size of the plant could eventually grow into, adding nutrients as needed. Or 2. Start with the soil I've chosen and continue transplanting into larger and larger pots adding more of the already nutrient rich soil therefor eliminating extra amendments because the roots keep digging into fresh soil? Mind you. I am not apposed to adding nutrients. It's Just me thinking.

dire wolf

dire wolf

But start in pro mix or 50/50 pro mix and chosen soil , less chance of burning your delicate seedlings .....
Since you seem to be a perfectionist

dire wolf

dire wolf

Free tip
Get a hand mister or spray bottle , water your seedling with the mister so you get a controlled among of moisture and you won't overwater , the number one screw up of new growers , the gentle mist will not drown fragile seedlings ....
In a few weeks , maybe 3 you can just dump water in .....

dire wolf

dire wolf