Can't drink, so what to do then?

• Thread starter jameson47
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
J

jameson47

Like many soldiers returning from Vietnam, I found a youthful very active but secret pot smoking society. I was left out at first, because I didn't know anything about pot. However, my brother returned from Nam after me already fully engaged and quickly finding acceptance in the secret community. Soon I was introduced and became fully engaged as well. That was 1971-72.

For the next few years, I was a daily pot smoker, even when working as a salesman in a department store and as a college student. However, I rarely drank anything stronger than "Boon's Farm". Pot was my thing.

However, with age and responsibility, plus with pee tests required before new contract jobs as an engineer, I moved away from those who continued to enjoy pot. Just walking into a smoke filled room could make me fail a pee test and thus lose a job.

Now, I am retired. And due to Hepititis 'C' and chronic cirrhosis of the liver, I am forbidden from drinking anything alcoholic. Thus, I'm left with nothing that can mediate tension in my body. Strong drugs like methadone work great, but are extremely addictive. I kicked that habit cold turkey (No small feat), but I'm back to nothing to help relieve the tension. For me, the tension is killer and causes further damage to my liver.

So, now I'm considering another path. Pot, obviously. From memory, I know that certain breeds or strains of pot can provide a very soothing and mellow high. I enjoyed the dream like state very much. So, that is the kind of strain I'd wish to discover and grow for myself.