Current Culture Rdwc Ph Swings & Effects I've Never Seen

• Thread starter intheuc
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
Status
Not open for further replies.
intheuc

intheuc

Week 4 of veg and after a Saturday changeout, I had PH drop from 5.8 to 4.9 overnight. I drained and added back to balance out at a 5.7 and dropped again to 5.5 the next day so I left it alone and dropped to 5.0 yesterday. The PPM would only drop 10-20 each day. I then drained the entire system and refilled with fresh solution. I use the UC12XL13 with upgrades to the return pump (from 950 to 1200) and extensions of all joints (from 12" to 24") and an extension of both return & delivery manifolds (from XL to XXL). I am running the Current Culture nutrient line as recommended and this is my first time running sterile so I'm hesitant to apply everything I have ever known over the years. My starting solution was at 520 ppm (3.5ml veg a and veg b; 4ml UC roots, 2ml Calmag) and starting PH at 5.9. By the time it filled, the read was 460 ppm and 5.6 ph. This morning ppm is 440 and ph is 5.5.

Factors to help with your assessment:

Room Type: sealed room with no panda paper, used flat white paint (Behr ultra white if you're interested)
Water temp: 68 thanks to 1/2hp chiller stored outside of room
Room temp: 78-80 (sensi controlled w/ 5 ton open blow Lennox)
Room humidity: 53% (controlled by Quest 205)
Fans: 4 with open blow AC fan running constant (plenty of air movement)
Lights: 12 (1 per plant) comprised of 1000 watt MH and 1000 watt hps to create a spectrum (and save what was left of my pockets) with 18/6 photo period
Examination of roots: Pure White & healthy
Examination of stems: 50/50 in showing signs of stress (purple stems- please note, platinum Girl Scout cookies is naturally purplish)
Examination of Water: clean, no strange scent
Water quality: Evolution filtration method bringing me in at 0 ppm and a ph of 6
Water levels: remaining constant with the slightest of drops during the last 3 weeks