DIY LED Component Recommendations

• Thread starter JohnnyApp
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
JohnnyApp

JohnnyApp

Seeking advice regarding custom LED grow lights.

I've been growing under mh/hps fixtures since 2007 and have essentially peaked out at a hair over 1gpw with SE digital ballasts.

I see led lighting as the future of the industry, however, the initial cost of straight out box brands such as Gavita, Black dog, Fluence, Spyder, ect seems incredibly inflated and I assume, as with all trades, the final price is 2-3x actual cost.

I am mechanically inclined and have always built out my own rooms, and installed/serviced all of my own equipment, including HVAC and electrical systems. Building light fixtures seems like the next logical step as any desired components could be used, and shortcuts could be avoided while saving a ton of $$$.

Any and all guidance is appreciated!

specklefart

specklefart

I hope that wasn’t patronizing. All you need is an LED driver, LEDs and a frame. Popular LED options are cobs, strips and quantum boards. I’ve used quantum boards, but strips are probably better for coverage.

JohnnyApp

JohnnyApp

No, sorry if it came across that way, I just wanted to provide a little background in an effort to bring about posts from more knowledgeable members and not necessarily prevent them from making an in depth explanation.

Before posting I first tried digging into existing threads and pretty much everything was topical, like "Fluence is the best", or "Hlg is killin it" type stuff, rather than actually explaining why.

Thank you for your reply.

Hlg diy kits are currently where im leaning, I like the idea of strips for coverage but I also am not opposed to qb.