Do you put hydroton or perlite on the top of your pot?

• Thread starter the123321
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
the123321

the123321

I am new to growing. I am looking at the 32x32 tent with auto plants in coco coir in 3 gallon fabric pots in the autopot system on there.

I have read that some people do put hydroton or perlite on top of the pot. Is that to try to help prevent gnats? Would there be any more benefits to doing that instead of leaving the coco coir to the top of the pot? I would rather use hydroton on the top of the plant than perlite but I want the best protection to try keep pests out of the tent. Which is better on there?

Last edited:
Edinburgh

Edinburgh

I add my own pearlite to my mix, FFOF, when it's all mixed up you will have pearlite on top, you do this to airate your soil and add nitro to your mix, if you get those little gnats or fruit flys i use de earth to kill them off.

the123321

the123321

Thanks. I have read that people put a layer of hydroton or perlite on the top of the pot to prevent gnats on there. I would like to find out if there are more benefits to it and if hydroton works as good as perlite on the top of the pot for that on there.

Beachwalker

Beachwalker

Some people put a layer of hydroton on the bottom, they claim it helps with drainage; some put a layer of DE on top, they claim it helps with gnats, good luck!

the123321

the123321

Thanks. If I am using the autopot with the bottom feeding then is there any downside to putting de on the top of the pot even if you do not have pests as a preventative before you have pest problems in the tent? I read that if you water from the top the de gets messy but if you are bottom feeding that would not be a problem right? Is there any reason not to put de on the top of your pot for every grow to prevent pests in the tent on there?

Beachwalker

Beachwalker