drying. How long is too long? need help dialing in dry room.

• Thread starter redshift75
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
R

redshift75

So i built my drying tent and ive got it dialed in to where its taking about 14-19 days to hit the point to throwing in jars. My question is, is it too long? Originally before i dialed it in was taking about 7 days before i could jar. i started to notice the hay smell so went to extend it. The dehumidifier only runs now several times when required and my hvac system sensors do all the air cycling and keeps it near perfect RH i set it at ***assuming its not excessively humid that day. The buds themselves currently seem to be drying inside out. Where my first settings it was really drying outside of the buds cooking them. I know thats part of the goal is to not cook them dry

are there negatives from this approach? I've read lots of things about long drying and dry curing. So im not sure where that benchmark is. As this is my first time doing the whole cycle solo. I was never the person who did the drying/curing and i never really took the time to learn about it from them when i had the chance. I was the planter/grower guy in the team. The person i would ask for those questions is no longer with us. I know lots of people go with the "til you can snap a stem".

Im more interested in thoughts at that next level whens a good indicator or baseline. I like the flavors and i know that takes curing. But i remember enough to know it wasnt a 10 day process for the person either. I do understand that the one auto i was harvesting in stages is not a great indicator of the tent and how it will work with lots of buds. Which is why i want to get a baseline of how it should be dialed in now. Using the buds i have.