Earthworms in indoor soil?

• Thread starter iDab
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
iDab

iDab

Hi peeps, new here!

I'm looking into growing organic indoors, which I've never done before, only outdoors so far..

So I know earthworms are great for the garden. Great for plants. Mixing EWC in with soil is really good for it and all that..

Outdoors plants have worms living in the soil with no probs. So can I have a good community of worms in indoor grows? Will there be any problems I'm not thinking about? Or is it all good?

Any advice welcome!

Thanks peeps! :)

LittleDabbie

LittleDabbie

Supporter
What would you feed them? Outside they feed on dead and decaying matter.. indoors you would have to supplement that feeding with something else.

Novel idea but in the long run i think you'd just either end up killing the worms with nutes , drowning them from too much water or you'll end up attracting bugs from supplementing there food source.

organicpanic

organicpanic

I don't have not done this myself. But I am thinking about it. There's several growers I follow on IG that have worm populations as well as insects such as predeter mites happily dwelling in their indoor pots. They mulch the soil with vegetation leaves stems etc. as that breaks down the worms feed on it. Some people are on like their tenth cycle in the same pot same soil. It looks like it's working very we'll. It can be done.

GoldiNugs

GoldiNugs

Organic soil is full of organic matter, right? Which is what worms feed on. That would be at least some food for them. LD is right though, you would probably need to feed them more than that, which isn't what you want to do indoors.

iDab

iDab

Cool yeh, well I notice my outdoor plants often have worms in the soil, without me either putting them there or feeding them.

I think they must come out of the ground and enter through the drainage holes..

Anyway they see to live in those pots quite happily and I always see that as a benefit to my plants.