First time growing outdoors need advice.

• Thread starter Zunk99
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
Zunk99

Zunk99

Hello all. This is my first time growing plants outside. Mostly I’m just letting them go. I’ve trimmed them a few times but not a ton. They are already 6ft tall and it’s only the start of august. My question is do outdoor plants stretch a lot like indoor plants when you flip them? If so should I trim the top off before flower? Dont want these things being 8-10ft tall.

First time growing outdoors need advice
mysticepipedon

mysticepipedon

You don't "flip" outdoor plants, unless you intend to put a tent over them to extend the night period.

I've never noticed a stretch period outdoors. That was my biggest surprise when I did my first indoor grow — this thing called stretch.

If they're getting too tall, use supercropping.

Zunk99

Zunk99

You don't "flip" outdoor plants, unless you intend to put a tent over them to extend the night period.

I've never noticed a stretch period outdoors. That was my biggest surprise when I did my first indoor grow — this thing called stretch.

If they're getting too tall, use supercropping.
Yea I meant it as “stretching like indoor plants do when you flip. Thanks!

Zunk99

Zunk99

Should I trim them like indoor plants going into flower? Or does direct sunlight penetrate the leaves much more?

mysticepipedon

mysticepipedon

Should I trim them like indoor plants going into flower? Or does direct sunlight penetrate the leaves much more?
I don't know. I haven't grown outdoors in about 7 years, when defoliation was looked at as insanity by many growers (including me).

The thing about the sun is that direct light hitting the top of the plant is no stronger than direct light hitting the bottom of the plant. However, shade is still shade. A shaded bud site won't develop much. I think I would do a little selective defoliating to allow more air flow through the plant and maybe leaves directly covering "good" growing points.