Flood duration question

• Thread starter ru knuts
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
ru knuts

ru knuts

Old noob here. Trying to set up an Ebb and Flow, 6-5 gallon buckets with hydroton, 33 gallon res.
It takes roughly 12 gallons to fill the pails accounting for the clay media.
My flood and drain time is 22 minutes 30 seconds from the start of flood until completely drained.
Will my flood/drain times drown my future girls or will I be ok?
Thanks

Last edited:
Jack og

Jack og

Supporter
15-20 mins is the norm so overshooting a few shouldn’t be an issue provided they environment conditions are optimal. Check the vapor density charts and ensure you are good but my experience says you will be ok. Just ensure newest plant go to the end of the loop so it gets the least flow

needshelpguy

needshelpguy

Old noob here. Trying to set up an Ebb and Flow, 6-5 gallon buckets with hydroton, 33 gallon res.
It takes roughly 12 gallons to fill the pails accounting for the clay media.
My flood and drain time is 22 minutes 30 seconds from the start of flood until completely drained.
Will my flood/drain times drown my future girls or will I be ok?
Thanks
I've been keen to set one up you should keep us posted on what you do and how you get on

ru knuts

ru knuts

15-20 mins is the norm so overshooting a few shouldn’t be an issue provided they environment conditions are optimal. Check the vapor density charts and ensure you are good but my experience says you will be ok. Just ensure newest plant go to the end of the loop so it gets the least flow

Thanks
I built my system, I have 2 rows of 3 pails all feeding off a 1" line running down the center of the 2 rows of pails. they should fill at the same rate or very close to it. My times are from an outer pail furthest from the initial feed line.

ru knuts

ru knuts

I've been keen to set one up you should keep us posted on what you do and how you get on