Forced Cloning

• Thread starter jadins_journey
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
jadins_journey

jadins_journey

Supporter
Hey folks! I am new to the Farm but not really new to gardening and after reading Zoo's great post on cloning I thought I might share a method I use. A couple buddies of mine asked me to do a pictorial on the technique so I'll share it with you guys as you seem like a really good group. I must say I have not seen any of that BS back stabbing crap here like other forums have, COOL!!!!!!

I grow in a hydroponic system, rockwool as a medium for clones and hydroton for a growth medium. This entire system is built on one premise "speed". Hydro is fast so you have to keep up with it. If I wait for the clones to grow naturally it doesn't keep with the demand, so I "force" them to clone. Foregot to mention, I don't use mothers for cloning purposes, the previous generation provides the clones.

The donor plants in this thread are rooted 14 day old clones themselves. After the plants are rooted and new growth starts I trim off the newest growth just above the first new leaf. The amount trimmed off is tiny as you will see in the pics. Within 2 weeks there will be new growth from all the lower nodes which will become the new clones.

jj

Forced cloning
Forced cloning 2
Forced cloning 3
Forced cloning 4
B

BITYmagicBeanz

you cool. do you always clone of clones for your next crops?

jadins_journey

jadins_journey

Supporter
you cool. do you always clone of clones for your next crops?
I keep a plant or so back each crop just as insurance but yes, cloning from clones is my primary source of propagation. Actually the plants in the test are spare's and will be tossed in the end, this project is for information purposes only.

jj

Z

Zoolander

Premium Member
Supporter
Man this is a cool thread :yes, I like how ya say these ones are just to spares and will get tossed since thats what I'm doing with mine LOL . Hey atleast we stay in training this way .

H