• Thread starter Maddog26630
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
M

Maddog26630

Can anyone till me if this is a good soil for a beginner grower

M

Maddog26630

So I am using foxfarm ocean Forest with that cause of reason why my plants are growing so slow because of the soils hotter then the FFHF

Timbo0716

Timbo0716

I am no expert by any means, post a pic of your plant and I am sure someone with a lot more experience than I will be able to give you some great advice.

PiGrow

PiGrow

Hey!

I absolutely love the stuff. Its also a great 'buffer' for a new grower.

I use the following mix in equal parts:

Fox Farm Happy Frog / Fox Farm Ocean Forest / Perlite

For a single plant or small grow I buy 12qt bags of each and mix everything together.

I use a lot of perlite to keep up aeration --> This really helps especially if you're indoor. It's really easy to over water when you're new, so the perlite will really help ensure you stay rot-less :)

I've used that mix several times with success.

If you need to save literally all of 5.00 --> Roots Organic Potting Soil and Perlite makes a good substitute. Ive grown in it as well with really good success, but the Fox Farm mix is my tried and true go-to.

Happy gardening!

M

Maddog26630

Ya I'm using FFOF but that's all I'm using is it to late to use the FFHF....because at this point I'm not sure if I'm overwatering or under watering...this my first grow and I'm have all kinds of problems...

M

Maddog26630

So if i watered yesterday then I shouldn't wather today right...but someone said it look dry but it also feels heavy when I pick them up

PiGrow

PiGrow

So if i watered yesterday then I shouldn't wather today right...but someone said it look dry but it also feels heavy when I pick them up

I would most definitely not. My first time I had the same problem - overwatering .