High Co2 Ppms When Lights Are Off.

• Thread starter ChiefnJoeBlo
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
ChiefnJoeBlo

ChiefnJoeBlo

I'm using an Atlas2 co2 controller in a sealed room. When I enter room right before lights come on my controller is reading in the red ppms of 2500 ppms+. I haven't noticed any adverse effects on my girls but I'm nervous of future problems arising from too high of concentrations of co2 at night. Any help or suggestions would be Greatly Appreciated!! Is this something I should be concerned about or is this completely normal?

DemonTrich

DemonTrich

im very new at co2, but I did research for 6+ months before diving in.

my findings state co2 is useless at lights out. when lights out, the plants are in o2 mode, lights on co2 mode. on my blueprint bdac2 controller, when I look at my controller at lights out (this is probably 9hrs lights out), my co2 reads -14,205 ppm. imo, its a waste of using precious co2 when the lights are out.

ChiefnJoeBlo

ChiefnJoeBlo

The Atlas 2 has a photocell that turns off co2 when lights are off. Plants transpire co2 when lights are off that's the reason for high ppms. My question is how high is too high at night. And will it affect the plants from using o2 properly at night. Should I evacuate at night to reduce levels or this is typical in tightly sealed rooms and I'll be just fine?

DemonTrich

DemonTrich

my bdac2 is also a photo cell and only activates the regulator when lights are on. co2 will diminish after the regulator is turned off after a period of time, which leaves me to believe you have a leak at the tank/regulator. I may be totally wrong, but that's my guess. I don't go over 1500ppm when lights are on, as that's the only time plants utilize co2 absorption.