How would you amend this soil?

• Thread starter Anythingbutmyrealname
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
Anythingbutmyrealname

Anythingbutmyrealname

Hi I'm going to grow in a new area and got a soil sample to see what I'm working with.

It looks okay in places and poor in others (especially organics and P).
I'd like to use salts as will be using fertigation with drip lines. I have a well but haven't had water sample yet. I also have a shit-load of aged sheep manure (pun neither intended or removed) that I can top dress with.

I'm new to using soil (as evidenced by my other posts) so not sure where to start with this.

I think it's all in English as well as Greek but if something isn't hit me up and I'll translate.

Happy growing and thanks in advance.

P.s. if this is in the wrong section please move it!
How would you amend this soil

fishbuds

fishbuds

Hi, fun times for you with a new soil test at your finger tips. Fun yes, but you have alot to sift thru to get to where you want to be. You seem to have lots of stuff in your soil, but it will all be locked up due to a few things:
1.ph 8.0 is too high to grow anything in optimal environment
2.ec0.8 is low
3. organic matter low

so all 3 of these go hand in hand to create a difficult soil. There are alot of ways to skin a cat, so dont be married to any ideas you hear, or see on the internet. Books are your friend. Read Solomon, Intelligent Gardener, and his Microbe book too. This will give you the backround you will need to become soil master.

Once youve read up, start simple, and add alot of "great" compost, and note its ph before you add it to the top. Then top the compost off with straw for mulch. If you want to bring in the worm army fast, add some clean horse poop.

The combination of the compost, poop, and mulch will start a chain reaction of events in your soil. The worms and other bugs, and microbial life will come to play in your new layers. This will do 3 things:
1. bring the ph alot closer to 7.0