Is it Fungus gnats or Aphids?

• Thread starter urijah710420
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
urijah710420

urijah710420

Saw this guy flying around in my tent. Is it a fungus gnat? I was going to flip to 12/12 tonight but having found that in the tent should I treat the coco with anything? Thanks dudes!!

Is it fungus gnats or aphids
Is it fungus gnats or aphids 2
GNick55

GNick55

Staff
Supporter
see any more? look closely at the soil surface? just stare at it a bit while moving your fingertips along the surface..

urijah710420

urijah710420

I have 6 2 gallon pots in my tent. Out of those 6 pots I only found 2 little black bugs crawling on the coco after i ran my finger thru the coco. They flew out of the pots when i did that. Looked like fungus gnats to me but I'm no expert.

GNick55

GNick55

Staff
Supporter
i’m guessing yes gnats, if so the bad with gnats is their larvee which will eat at your roots.. generally just cover the soil or coco with an inch or two of perlite, try to keep the area dry meaning don’t let their be spilt water sitting around and keep it windy!! you could hand sticky traps too, act now and you’ll be able to flip soon..
but maybe wait for another reply to confirm it’s a gnat.,

urijah710420

urijah710420

Haha i got so lucky to catch him. I saw him flying around so i sat in front of my tent for 1+ hour and finally saw him land on a leaf and squished him between my hands haha. Is there anything yall would recommend to run thru the coco to kill them? I'm letting my coco dry out completely in hopes to kill any eggs in the coco. I will hit the store tomorrow and get some perlite to top dress with. But is there something i should run thru my coco or should letting it dry out completely do the trick? Thanks!

Last edited:
GrowHobo

GrowHobo