Looking for Apera EC60 (EC, TDS, Salinity) users for a few questions

• Thread starter marcd455
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
marcd455

marcd455

Ok so I'm pretty confused here, I am a rookie using meters and I think i jumped right into the deep end with the Apera EC60. From all my internet researching I thought i was completely comfortable understanding EC readings as well as the conversion to tds/ppm. Everytime i have heard EC used it was thrown around in small 1 decimal point readings (i.e. 1.2, 0.8, 2.1) but upon opening and attempting to use my E60 for the first time i notice it is using a much different system. My meter is displaying larger numbers with the increment μS, for example my tap water is 262 μS when i check the conductivity. Now the apera meters also read PPM but from what i understand in the users manual the PPM is actually just a conversion formula directly figured from the EC value. So i am unsure how μS is converted to EC and furthermore ppm. I believe the proper PPM scale i will be using is the "500PPM Scale" AKA "NaCl Scale". In the manual it says TDS coefficent can be 0.40-1.00, and the factory default is set to .71, does this mean in order to achieve the "500ppm Scale" i would want to set the coefficient to 0.5? So my main questions for you guys would be what is the proper coffecient to aquire a proper PPM reading based on the 500 scale and what is the difference between EC and μS. i will attach some photos showing the manual and pen. All the conversions im seeing online say 1 EC=1 μS/cm and EC*1000/2=PPM, this means my tap water is 150,000ppm, clearly im missing something because im expecting 100-300ppm at my tap. IM LOST please help.
Aperaissues
Aperaissues2
Aperaissues3

Ive noticed the same number EC numbers i mentioned before are from a bluelab pen. apparently bluelab pens measure EC in their own way. Bluelab and apera both measure EC with a completely different value? huh?