My Tamasium Clone.

• Thread starter Walter White
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
W

Walter White

I ended up with a pile of flowers that, although the "strength" is fairly good, the presentation sucks. I figured make concentrate from them and I've been contemplating butane extraction. The Tamisium has always caught my eye, except for the price tag. Then a friend gave me another couple of pounds that would be suitable for butane extraction. More thoughts about butane. Then my brother-in-law just is pulling in a huge outdoor harvest and just gave me about 25 pounds of trim.

O.K... it's time to put something together but there is no way I'm going to drop the funds for a Tamisium when I own a machine shop. So... I started studying, calculating, purchasing and TIG welding. I'm pretty much duplicating the Tamisium with three major changes. First my collection chamber will be separate from the extraction column. It will be coupled to the extraction chamber with hydraulic disconnects. Second both ends of the extraction column and collection chamber will be open and use sanitary "tri-clamp" fittings. This will allow easy access for cleaning. Finally I'm using off the shelf containers for handling the butane. This will consist of a "Y" valved refrigerant recovery tank (designed for handling things like liquid butane) and propane cylinders fitted with the Mr/ Heater adapters, ball valves and hydraulic disconnects. I've also sourced out the high pressure armored hoses and the same hydraulic connectors that Tamisium marks up 10x. Sorry.. I've been working in big industry too long.

All I am waiting for is the arrival of the clamps and the end caps. Once they show up all I need to do is drill and tap some 1/4" pipe thread holes in two of the blanks and install the connectors. Hopefully I will have a functioning captive extractor in another week or so.
My tamasium clone

socalpunx

socalpunx