New to Closed column extractor

• Thread starter Jesse.stoner
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
Jesse.stoner

Jesse.stoner

I'm new to closed column extraction, I was wondering if there's any tips you guys can help me with. I have recently bought me a 45 gram closed column extractor and vacuum pump. I was told to pack tune close top valve appt vac hose to bitten valve turn vac on, let it pull vac, close bottom valve put butane on top and release top valve tell no more butane goes in, let it soak(but don't know how long seen people say only mins and some ppl say alot longer) then open bottom valve and let solvent empty into Pyrex.? Any tips or ticks or missing steps would be much appreciated.

Bmg1982

Bmg1982

I'm new to closed column extraction, I was wondering if there's any tips you guys can help me with. I have recently bought me a 45 gram closed column extractor and vacuum pump. I was told to pack tune close top valve appt vac hose to bitten valve turn vac on, let it pull vac, close bottom valve put butane on top and release top valve tell no more butane goes in, let it soak(but don't know how long seen people say only mins and some ppl say alot longer) then open bottom valve and let solvent empty into Pyrex.? Any tips or ticks or missing steps would be much appreciated.
I'm not a big fan of "closed column" extracting for general blasting purposes, as my guess is that you didn't go the "closed loop" route as that's quite an investment.

My favorite use of your typical closed column system are the ones with the dry ice sleeves. You fill the sleeve with dry ice pellets, and all your concentrate gets winterized in line after a two hour soak. Typically when soaking for too long without the use of dry ice, it will allow the temps of the butane to go up which allows for more chlorophyll to pass, which is not what you want.

My advice would be to just run it open. Lowest possible temps all the way through your process will yield your best results.