Newbie question about auto flower and possibly growing outdoors

• Thread starter bibsoconner
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
B

bibsoconner

Hi, I'm a complete newbie and my first attempt with photoperiod seeds was a disaster! See my other posts for a good laugh or to send condolences. The general consensus seems to be that I made multiple errors. However, when it came to the light I was using (BLOOM PLUS LED Grow Light BP 1000W (which I'm told is really 90W??!!)) the advice was all over the place in terms of it being too close to the plants (burning) or too far away (plants get leggy).

My question is: In order to keep things simple would I be better getting some auto flower seeds and growing outside only. That removes one variable (artificial light) from the equation. It probalby also removes the ventilation (not enough breeze) variable. Then I could concentrate on not over watering (suggested also in my previous thread) and nutrients. I'm in coastal southern california so I suspect low temps are not a problem. The coldest it gets at night is about 50F and if there really was a threat of colder temps, I could bring them inside (under the light if necessary!). I don't know however, if there is enough daylight right now. I realize that auto flower doesn't need 16 hours, but I suspect it needs more than 12? Another option would be to save the seeds until (which month?) later. I have done some research and see that growing outside might give lower yields and/potency. Are those the only downsides? I'd rather sacrifice yield and get something successful under my belt!

Related question: I get to pick a pack of 5 seeds from seedsman (some of my previous seeds didn't germinate) but only from their own brand:

"In these circumstances we can offer some seeds from our own brand - Seedsman.
http://www.seedsman.com/en/cannabis-seed-breeders/seedsman