Ppm And Nutrient Burn?

• Thread starter gardnguyahoy
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
gardnguyahoy

gardnguyahoy

I recently learned that i need to control the PPM in my feeding depending on not just the stage of life but also how healthy it is? Does this cause nutrient burn? Im a beginner so im trying to do this right. I bought a ppm meter, 30$... starting with water at 80ppm i added the 'light feeding' dosage of cal mag, 1/4 the dosage of my vegetative nutrient. (organic bio food) 1/4 the dosage of a vegatative nutrient (organic bio food rich in nitrogen. And a tsp of 'sparetime supply' trace mineral additive. This brought the ppm up to about 400. And i fed my vegging girls. Now. What im asking is, if I'm controlling ppm, will that help keep me from nutrient burn? Or is this just one of many factors to control when feeding.

Thanks in Advance for any and all advice. Sorry if this question is 'dumb' im just learning. First indoor grow right now. Thank you for letting me be a part of your community, what I've learned already is immense, im looking forward to cramming more info in the ol noodle!

Apollo13

Apollo13

Depends on the soil u use. If u use a real quality soil, no real need for nutrients imo, go ewc teas and flood with microbes instead of ferilzer.. Hopefully u have a ph meter if ur mixing nutes. Go simple is my advice. Too much nutrients kills ur plant too little nutrients harvests smoke. U would rather have less than perfect than too much..

Apollo13

Apollo13

If ur edge teeth on leaf start to burn or rise up, nute burn. If tip of leaves burn it is as well. If tips of leaves point towards the ground, it's nitrogen toxicity, called "the claw".. ur leaf should be almost dead flat.. learn to read ur plant is what makes a good grower..

gardnguyahoy

gardnguyahoy