Reuse Your Coco

• Thread starter gwheels
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
gwheels

gwheels

I was wondering. Do people reuse coco and perlite mix ?

I fish out my hydroton pellets and reuse those but getting the roots out of the coco is a pain in the ass. The problem is i have 16 gallons of coco/perlite every 3 months or so. My outdoor garden would be a mountain if i keep churning it in there. I tend to recycle it in the green bin in dribs and drabs but is it reusable?

How do you do it so I have an idea how to prepare.

Ideally I would have 32 gallons of substrate. 16 gallons fresh and ready for next round every time. Is that even possible?

I am still a newb but not a super newb :D
Thanks for reading it and thanks for the advice.

StandingRock

StandingRock

I reuse my pots and when I remove the root ball I gently shake off whatever is loose(not much, maybe 1/4) and toss the rest. I mix it with new stuff and haven’t had trouble yet.

ogweedman

ogweedman

I have done with and with out the enzymes and didn't notice a difference. Not saying they don't work but not something that will kill your crop if you don't have it. If I had a good round of flower then I reuse as much as possible. If I had problems especially root or mites, I would replace with new. It's cheap for me using 100% Coco from the bricks.

StandingRock

StandingRock

I have done with and with out the enzymes and didn't notice a difference. Not saying they don't work but not something that will kill your crop if you don't have it. If I had a good round of flower then I reuse as much as possible. If I had problems especially root or mites, I would replace with new. It's cheap for me using 100% Coco from the bricks.

My thoughts exactly.

P

Pimples