Seedling Questions

• Thread starter CannNewbie
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
CannNewbie

CannNewbie

My plants have been in the red solo cups for 7 days, and are getting good leaves. Germinated in Rapid Rooter Plugs, and transplanted to Fox Farms Happy Frog soil with Perlite mixed in 70/30. I have been watering with just non-ph'd water.

My questions are:
1. When should I transplant to their forever home?
2. When should I start adjusting the ph of the water?
3. When should I add nutrients to the water?

Please help, Im a newb and I don't know what to do!!

Seedling questions
Seedling questions 2
Seedling questions 3
Seedling questions 4
OdlaFett

OdlaFett

1. They can easily stay in those red cups another 2 weeks, transplant to early before the roots have conqoured the cup and you risk dameging the roots

2. Wait about one more week before adding nutes and then at about 1/4 of the strenght every 2nd watering. The intesinty of the green colour of the plant tells you if you need nutes or not, if they become pale, very light green you start adding, they become dark green you back off. this is were you learn to read your plant and what its telling you.

3. I never ph water in soil, i feel the microbes change the ph for the plant in a symbiosis relationship.

Dan789

Dan789

Suggest you make a few more holes in the sides down low on those solo cups... any roots that far down (and peek out) will tell you that they’re ready for a bigger pot. I graduate to 1 gallon, 3 gallon, then 7 gallon for the win.

CannNewbie

CannNewbie

Thanks dan789, I have roots coming out of the bottom holes now, I went ahead and ck Ed the root ball, bottom 1/2 of cup could see quite a few roots, top half not so much. Thought I’d give them another day or too, and then consider transplanting?????

Dan789

Dan789