Socal Harvest Advice? Bud Rot Scare + Rain's Coming

• Thread starter zendog13
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
zendog13

zendog13

Be gentle, I'm a noob with my first grow.

I've got a beautiful 8' Blue Dream gal in a 150-gallon raised bed (filled with Super Soil) here in LA LA Land. I've been scoping the trichomes daily for the past week.

Yesterday, I came across a patch of growth on one bud that was darker brown than normal. Last night I did a crash course on bud rot. Today, I donned rubber gloves and climbed the ladder and went through the plant branch by branch. In total, I only found 4 buds that pulled off from rot. I chopped as much as needed (about an ounce, wet - fed to the worms) and said a prayer to the weed gods.

The rest of the plant looked pretty strong and healthy. So, I'm on pins and needles waiting, and hoping that no more rot appears. I've got my drying room all blacked out and ready to go. I figure I've got somewhere between 1 - 3 weeks before the sweet spot, somewhere in October.

Some of the bud rot advice I read suggests early harvest to (hopefully) avoid further contamination, so I've been considering that, thinking that I'd keep a diligent watchful eye out for rot as well as trichome maturation.

Now, there's light rain (days of it) forecast for next week! Argh!

I can probably rig a tarp to cover the plant (and bed), but I'm wondering whether I wanna take the chance of exposing it to higher humidity and moisture.

Quite the trade-off/gamble for those amber trichs, huh?

With my luck, I'm sure I'd make the wrong choice. So, I wanted to turn to the place that has guided me thus far. What say ye, hive mind? Chop or wait?

Last edited:
Perception

Perception