Stealth Grow SG602 new grow

• Thread starter eyecandi
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
eyecandi

eyecandi

I recently picked up a StealthGrow SG602 LED panel to build out my new medical marijuana grow and see if the new generation of LED panels will meet my expectations. I have 20+ years of experience growing with HIDs and flouros, from small cabinets to a 3000 sq' 20K watt commercial facility (Colorado legal). I'll be straight up though, I need convincing. I've done HIDs forever, and while I'm a tech geek and stay on top of technology, I wasn't impressed with LED grows in 2010 and early 2011. it seems they may have improved a lot. after talking to the reps at SG indepth about the technology and where they have come with it, I figured it was time to try one out. my space requires a low thermal footprint due to high temps in spring-fall and this was also a determining factor in the purchase (my 1000w HID heats up the room to 98deg. the SG602 I have to add heat to get it to an optimal 79deg) - they say the 602 has a similar thermal signature to a human body, so a FLIR camera shouldn't be able to pinpoint a grow in theory. I thought about the 1250HO model, with it's larger LEDs, but I think it would be overkill for my small space and the cost was a little more daunting (if I still had my warehouse, I'd give em a run for sure).

I'm also using herb.IQ for plant/data tracking and will upload the end results when i'm done with this first run. http://herbiq.net/

The lowdown: http://stealthgrow.com/index.htm
(marketing copy/paste from their site)
SG 602
  • Wattage – 600 Watts; actual power draw 400 watts*
  • 1.5 amps @ 220V; 3 amps @ 110V
  • Spectrum of Light - 455-475nm, 620-630nm, 660nm
    and bright white
  • Optimal Area of Coverage – 3' x 3'
  • Lifespan – 50,000-100,000 hours
  • Dimensions – 13" x 19" x 4"
  • Number of LEDs – 270
  • LED Chip Power – 2 and 3 Watt Hi-power LED Chips**