Tips and Advice for Second Grow

• Thread starter StickyGreens
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
StickyGreens

StickyGreens

Hello, fellow growers. Sorry I’m advance for the long post. I’m new to cannabis cultivation having one grow under my belt to date since Virginia fully legalized it last July 1st. I learned a lot during the process including some things I definitely won’t repeat this time. The most obvious being how I start my seeds. So for my first grow I germinated the seeds in little peat pots and transferred them to 7 gallon pots. I put the seeds right into the soil about ¼” deep, moistened it and covered it with clear wrap. The pots were then placed in a bay window and after about 2 days, pop, the first one came up. The second and third came up on day 3 and 4. The last one, that I thought was a dud, finally decided to come up a full 7 days after planting. This method was suggested by a friend who discovered has been growing for at least 10 years. Just think you know somebody right? The germination was fine. The mistake came in when it was time to transfer my girls to the 7 gallon pots that would be their homes. I read somewhere that I could place the seedling, peat pots and all, into the larger pots. I didn’t find out until harvest that this was a big mistake that probably cost me in yield and quality. Yes I was able to grow them to harvest but they never looked like they were thriving. Turns out the roots never penetrated the sides of the little starter peat pots. I did get little tap roots out the bottom but I was not impressed with them.