Veg and Bloom...use both settings for flowering??

• Thread starter Thumbuddy
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
Thumbuddy

Thumbuddy

I'm new to all this indoor growing so please bare with my lack of knowledge.
I'm running a 5x5 tent with 2- 1000w king plus LEDs. Started flowering stage almost 5 wks ago.
Kind of confused per manufacturers suggestion to run both Veg and Bloom during early stages of flowering...then switch to bloom only during later flowering stage.
Both on always?
Bloom only?
What point is considered later flowering stage?
I'm figuring on a 9 wk flowering period

BigCube

BigCube

I'm running a 5x5 tent with 2- 1000w king plus LEDs. Started flowering stage almost 5 wks ago.
Kind of confused per manufacturers suggestion to run both Veg and Bloom during early stages of flowering...then switch to bloom only during later flowering stage.
Both on always?
Bloom only?

Well, I will give you a short answer, then a longer more involved one.

Short: you want them both on all the time, even in veg.

Long: (here we go)

To properly scale your lighting to your environment, you want a minimum of 30w per square foot. But 35w per sq/f is optimal.

You have a 5x5 tent
5x5=25x35=875 actual watts. Remember this number.

In the advertising for king plus 1000w it says it consumes 188w.

875-188x2=499

You are 500w short of optimal lighting. That is with both switches on.

If you can return those lights still, you may want to look in to better fixtures.
As a rule, anything with veg/bloom switches or anything burple is not worth buying.

Look in to quantum style fixtures, or bar type fixtures. Kingbrite makes nice kits. I can hunt down link or two if you need.

Thumbuddy

Thumbuddy

I'm running 2 of them though so that should put me in the required wattage per square ft,correct? Atleast with both running veg and bloom I assume I'd have the wattage.
Yeah, I went cheap because this was a first time grow.