Very tiny white bugs eating roots

• Thread starter bdank
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
bdank

bdank

Hi Everyone!

This is my first post regarding plant sickness :(. I have been a farmer for a lil while now and have run into my fair share of predators. Ive had aphids, mites, thrips, you name it, in many different medias.

Currently i have discovered an insect that is eating my roots and causing deficiencies and clawing. Its very sad bc i foresee an entire room take down as the damage is heavy.

Im running recirc drip feed in 5 gals. RW in hydroton in net baskets.
Environment is optimal as far as temp humidity light. PLants are 2 months in veg

I have not seen any fliers of this bug. What i have seen is extremely tiny bug that i can only tell is alive by seeing its antennae move under a microscope. It is slow and is found on the RW rocks and roots. My roots have turned brown from death. I have found what looks like mold or some white webbing in the hydroton and roots. There are no other bugs other than these white small ones.

So far i have used mallet about a week ago (drench and feed for 3 days), ive done azamax, pyrethrum dunks, Used lots of H2O2, Sm-90, hygrozyme for flushing (not at same time). Used Bayer tree and shrub yesterday as a drench and soak for 12 hrs. I know im using systemics and this might take a few days or what not but i still see a lot of life from these bugs.

At this point im experimenting on what kills this bug. I am up for anything as i am not going to finish this crop out. I believe the bug to be some kind of root aphid but im not sure bc of its size and color. I also researched and saw that it might look like a root meallybug. Its not jumping or moving quickly by any means. Its very slow in fact which is why i didnt know i had a bug, couldnt tell the white specs were alive.

Ty in advance

Very tiny white bugs eating roots
bdank

bdank