What color light do you use during which stages?

• Thread starter MrsBearxx
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
MrsBearxx

MrsBearxx

Hi all! I am brand new both here and as a grower, this is my first time so I literally have no idea what I am doing. My plants are little baby seedlings, I started them on Ostara and they will be grown completely indoors; my grow light is LED and it has three settings, blue red and purple. What color should I be using during the stages?

Pictures of my babies--one picture shows the ones in a tray and the other shows Petey in a pot. Both have blue glow from the light.

What color light do you use during which stages
What color light do you use during which stages 2
Greenjourneyman

Greenjourneyman

Bruple in the clone cha,her, full spectrum in veg and bloom

Homesteader

Homesteader

Yeah light is light. Some more useful to plants than others but I wouldn't worry about that, just use what you got. I would try to blanket as much of all colors on your plant at any stage. Don't buy into the whole light spectrum change thing from blue to red/ veg to flower because its marketing BS. If you have a blurple and it doesn't grow plants well, its probably due to its lack of power and not the color. Most of those blurples are pretty weak from what I can see. Inputs equal your outputs. Use weak lights and you will get weak buds.

Last edited:
Greenjourneyman

Greenjourneyman

No light is not light.
depemdin ton what wavelength in the ems you’re talking about lthe energy has different properties.
The 25-3 um band behaves and has different properties than the 740-380 um band that you and I see. That stands to reason that there are subtle differences in the energy levels and photosynthetic properties of light in various visible wavelengths.
there was a bunch of research in the 80s and 90s around which wavelengths chlorophyll a&bu prefer.
the Bruple light industry of the early 2000s took this to heart with the multicolored rigs.