What is the best bulb?

• Thread starter Drizzle
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
Surfr

Surfr

Just cruisin....
Supporter
To be honest, I have tried, Horti's, Sunmaster, Ushio, Digilux, and Ultra Sun... I could not tell you which is better because there isn't a better bulb. I only buy $25 1k Ultra Sun bulbs now.. Saves me a lot of money.

:character0180:

Dirty White Boy

Dirty White Boy

I've been using almost solely ushio or sunpulse bulbs for 5 years now no plans on changing anytime soon. Sunpulse 10k bulbs mixed with ushio super red bulbs is the king shit mix of bulbs!!!!

purpleberry

purpleberry

Ive used hort and ushio next to plant max with no difference. Ive done whole runs with plant max that came out very good, even on the 4th run with them. I think i pay $40 for them. Id pay extra if i thought it was worth it. or if someone could prove it to me.

pork

pork

ultra sun, plant max....$30/1000w for each bulb...replace bulbs after each run or every two runs....all brands have roughly the same initial output and their intensity degrades over the same period of time (in most cases)...and with how HPS bulbs work, after 6 months of usage, you'd be lucky to be pumping 2/3 of the lumens compared to when new...So, basically, you should be replacing your bulbs, regardless of brand, every 2 runs...That's where the $30 bulb makes a huge difference...good luck

SweetTooth

SweetTooth

ultra sun, plant max....$30/1000w for each bulb...replace bulbs after each run or every two runs....all brands have roughly the same initial output and their intensity degrades over the same period of time (in most cases)...and with how HPS bulbs work, after 6 months of usage, you'd be lucky to be pumping 2/3 of the lumens compared to when new...So, basically, you should be replacing your bulbs, regardless of brand, every 2 runs...That's where the $30 bulb makes a huge difference...good luck

I will second that, you can run a plant max in a digi ballast with no worries too