Where to stick it? Options other than rockwool for clones?

• Thread starter sweetgreen
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
S

sweetgreen

Where to stick it? Options other than rockwool for seeds/clones?

I'm a noob, so any thoughts or tips on my setup, or anything I say is mucho appreciated.

I'm just curious what all the options are, as for what to put clones in after you cut them? I know rockwool is the most popular, as well as soil, but what else? I assume my growing method is what will dictate what I choose to put my clones in?

I think I'm going DWC hyrdo(2 plants per 1 rubbermaid 57L/15gal, 24 x 16 x 12½), and either going to use neoprene collars and just have the roots hang, or use lava balls(better support?). I'd like to know how I'm going to get from fresh cut clone to vegging plant for either of those methods? I've heard using a rockwool cube and covering it in lava balls isn't the best way, as the rockwool cube holds lots of water and can cause problems later on?. What I'd like to do, once the clones have some roots, is to clean them off to bare roots, then either put them in laval balls or use the collars. I just don't know how I can root a clone in something, then remove that something so I can put the rooted clone in it's final home?

These are going to be moms used to make clones for an outdoor this summer. Do my growing methods sound like good choices for what I want to do?

So the most important answer I'm looking for is what should I put my clones in?

Thanks

L

LongFlight

Rockwool should work great as long as your dont keep it constantly soaked... if you are doing dwc then the rockwool should always be above the water level. Problem never occurs. Rockwool clones can go into both your soil and hydro plans.

Plenty of writeup on cloning in rockwool, follow anyone, they are all similar enough and you can get cute later

mastacheeser

mastacheeser

only thing better than rockwool in my experience is a turbo cloner

Z

Z-ro